Women In Olfactory Science

Meeting Room, 7th floor (SISSA, Trieste)

Meeting Room, 7th floor

SISSA, Trieste

Via Bonomea, 265 34136 Trieste (TS)
Sanne Boesveldt (Wageningen University), Valentina Parma (SISSA - Cognitive Neuroscience), Veronika Schöpf (University of Graz)

WIOS was founded in early 2016 by chemosensory research scientists Valentina Parma (IT), Sanne Boesveldt (NL), and Veronika Schöpf (AUT), and is a new organization that aims to create a network of women working in human olfactory science in Europe, to foster scientific collaborations, advance career perspectives, promote equal opportunities and inspire the future generations of researchers.

WIOS represents the first international forum to unite women scientists in olfactory science with the objective of strengthening their role in the development and promotion of their representation among the leaders in the field of the chemical senses. WIOS provides a stage to validate women research achievements as well as networking opportunities for women scientists at different stages of their career. 

As evident from our full program (available here), we can count on a diversity of speakers varying in seniority and backgrounds, which will create opportunities - especially for women - to share their experiences during the event with scientists at any level of career.

Anyone is welcome to register as an attendee by clicking on the Registration menu, on the right. A poster session will not be available in this first edition of the event. Nevertheless, networking events have been thought to allow for the sharing of personal research interests from all attendees.  

WIOS2017 will take place between Thursday October 5 and Friday October 6, 2017. It will be held at SISSA main campus, via Bonomea 265, Trieste, located here. Information on how to reach us can be found here.

We look forward to meet you in Trieste. 

Valentina Parma, Sanne Boesveldt, Veronika Schöpf and the WIOS2017 team

  • Alice Zanini
  • Anat Arzi
  • Andrea Buettner
  • Anna Menini
  • Asifa Majid
  • Barbara Siegmund
  • Birgit Helmlinger
  • Camilla Cattaneo
  • Casey Trimmer
  • Cinzia Cecchetto
  • Cristina Proserpio
  • Daniela Hödl
  • Danja Porada
  • Ella Pagliarini
  • Foteini Protopapa
  • Ilona Owusu
  • Janina Seubert
  • Lenka Martinec Novakova
  • Magdalena Akantisz
  • Marc Spehr
  • Maria G. Veldhuizen
  • Maria Paola Cecchini
  • Moa Peter
  • Monica Laureati
  • Monique Smeets
  • Nelly Redolfi
  • Paulina Morquecho Campos
  • Rachelle De Vries
  • Rea Rodriguez-Raecke
  • Sanne Boesveldt
  • Sara Joy Hawkins
  • Shrikanth Kulashekhar
  • Sonia Calligaris
  • Valentina Parma
  • Veronika Schöpf
  • Zdenka Panovská